A Review of Lottie Dolls

Searching for original and unique Christmas presents for my 6yr old daughter I found Lottie Dolls A doll that promotes STEM *and* has premium quality hair to play with? I knew Beg would be enamoured with her. I bought her Fossil hunter Lottie for Christmas and I received a Forest Friend Lottie and a Raising the Bar accessory set to write a review about them. This post contains affiliate links.

What’s so great about Lottie?

At 18cm tall she’s just the right size for little hands. She lets kids be little by not wearing make-up or high heels. Her proportions and clothes are based on a 9 year old child except for her head which is larger to accommodate hair play. She has lots of different roles like star gazer Lottie and Karate Lottie and the medal on the front of each box is a nod to the suffragette medal of green, white and violet.

Lottie

Lottie

Why Parents will love Lottie.

When I showed her the website, Beg was wide-eyed at all the things Lottie can do and she instantly said she would like to be a fossil hunter when she grew up! I love that it has got her thinking about all the things she can do. As a mum the quality of Lottie really struck me, her little clothes are detailed and the feel of the actual doll is different to others we’ve had.  Each one has a slightly different skin tone and this got us talking about how everyone’s skin tone is slightly different which I thought was great. I also really liked all Lottie’s accessories, Forest Friend Lottie came with ballet slippers and a bow headband and the Raising the Bar accessory set had a leotard, medal, competitor number and jogging bottoms. These kept Beg occupied for ages switching round the roles and game situations. I also love the little background story each Lottie comes with, it’s these little touches that set her apart from other dolls.

What Beg thought of Lottie.

She likes dressing her and playing with all the accessories the most. She bends her knees for the gymnastics competitions and often they are sisters supporting one another at the competitions. She noticed how lovely and soft Lottie’s hair is to play with and on one of our YouTube videos she exclaims “She’s got chocolate eyes, just like me!”  Which I think Lottie company Arklu would be pleased about as Lottie is based on real girls.

Lottie Lottie Lottie

Lottie

Forest Friend Lottie is £18.99 and the Raising the Bar accessory pack is £9.50. You can join club Lottie on the website (which is what I did) for details of promotions and upcoming discounts. Lottie can be bought online.

 

I received a sample of Forest Friend Lottie doll and a Raising the Bar accessory pack for the purposes of this review. All opinions throughout this post are my own. This post contains affiliate links. This means if you purchase items through these links I make a commission but there is no extra cost to you.

Share:

65 Comments

  1. 28th January 2017 / 4:50 pm

    Great review Hun! I love the meaning behind the dolls, Myah has some Barbie’s and yes the proportions of her body are ridiculous! I refuse to buy Bratz, not just for the look but to me they seem to promote a bad attitude! Lovely reading about Lottie’s adventures, Beg looks super happy playing with them! Xx

    • thehippychristianmum
      28th January 2017 / 7:20 pm

      She loves them! On Christmas day it was one of the last presents to be opened and she put it to the side for a little while but as soon as she took it out of the box and pulled out the little collector cards and fossils she loved it. We have barbies too and the way she plays with them is totally different. I wouldn’t have thought it would influence her a huge amount but I can see the difference in that Lottie always does more cool stuff in the games!

  2. 4th February 2017 / 10:19 pm

    They look fab – and she’s clearly enjoying playing with them! #kcacols

  3. 4th February 2017 / 10:28 pm

    What a great review my lovely, very detailed. I like the look of these Lottie Dolls and little lady look as if she’s likes them too! #KCACOLS

  4. 4th February 2017 / 10:37 pm

    How cute. I’m not adverse to Barbie (she’s an astronaut!) but nice to see some variation on the looks…like the world, it takes all kinds. #KCACOLS

  5. 4th February 2017 / 10:40 pm

    Cute! She looks like she loved them! I do get little pangs of want with little dolls etc when I see my boy diving head first into his dinosaurs and tractors. I want dolls haha! #KCACOLS

  6. 4th February 2017 / 10:41 pm

    I love dolls looking reflective of little girls. I never had a Barbie or a Sindy when I was little, (although I was most envious of friends who did) but I don’t recall them looking anything like the current trend for heavily made up dolls. A fossil hunting doll sounds fab! #KCACOLS

  7. 4th February 2017 / 10:45 pm

    I love that there are so many roles with the dolls, And the no make or high heels is fabulous. It is great to see young girls using their imagination through play.
    #KCACOLS

  8. 4th February 2017 / 11:00 pm

    I like that each doll looks different just like people in real life. I think that teaches kids good values and sends a positive message. #KCACOLS

  9. 4th February 2017 / 11:05 pm

    I’ve seen the lottie dolls alot lately but haven’t actually held one.id say my daughter would love them to be honest. I may have to invest in some of these for he. Much better role models to be looking up to #kcacols

  10. 5th February 2017 / 1:59 am

    Looks like your daughter is having lots of fun with her new dolls. I’ll keep these in mind when looking for gifts for little girls – I don’t think my son would be to into them unless they have a Darth Vader version 😉 #KCACOLS

  11. 5th February 2017 / 1:32 pm

    Great to see toys that are more true to real life and provide a positive role model. Toy makers should take note, it would be good to see more of this kind of thing 🙂

    #KCACOLS

  12. 5th February 2017 / 2:46 pm

    aww these look cute and I reckon my niece would love them! great review 🙂 #KCACOLS

  13. 5th February 2017 / 3:10 pm

    Lovely review. Good to see dolls in the market that are more realistic and nice for little girls (or boys!) to play with. I’m sure my daughter would love them x
    #KCACOLS

  14. 5th February 2017 / 4:41 pm

    Although she doesn’t play with them anymore, Grace loved her Lottie dolls when she had them. They still look great 🙂 #KCACOLS

  15. 5th February 2017 / 6:10 pm

    This is a great review! It reminded me of my childhood, when I loved to sew the little clothes for my dolls. I think it was my favorite activity (at least for a while)
    #KCACOLS

  16. 5th February 2017 / 6:28 pm

    These are awesome. Much better than Bratz and what have you. #kcacols

  17. 5th February 2017 / 8:07 pm

    love how realistic these sound and the values they can help instill ( as opposed to some other dolls marketed at young girls). great idea. #kcacols

  18. 5th February 2017 / 8:55 pm

    These look great, I’ll be keeping these in mind for my daughter’s next birthday x
    #KCACOLS

  19. 5th February 2017 / 9:24 pm

    These are a great idea. Super cute doll! I had Barbies growing up and I used to love dressing them up.

    #KCACOLS

  20. 5th February 2017 / 9:55 pm

    I love these dolls! the message is brilliant, and encourages kids to not be overtly sexualised and rude. Love this! #KCACOLS

  21. 5th February 2017 / 10:39 pm

    I’ve seen these before and really like them. I think I might have to get the raising the Bar Lottie for my little gymnast! #KCACOLS

  22. 5th February 2017 / 11:36 pm

    Love the concept of these dolls and my daughter loves hers

  23. 6th February 2017 / 12:55 am

    These look fab. It seems that the manufacturer has put s lot of thought into the design. Only have a small baby I’m not familiar with many dolls currently on the market but I would much prefer my child to play with s Lottie doll over a Barbie #KCACOLS

  24. 6th February 2017 / 9:05 am

    These look brilliant. I think my girls would love them even if my littlest is probably a little too young at the moment.
    #KCACOLS

  25. 6th February 2017 / 9:21 am

    My daughter has just started ballet and is just discovering dolls. I’m keen to check out the forest friend Lottie!

    #KCACOLS

  26. 6th February 2017 / 4:06 pm

    Lovely review. My girlie is a little to young for them yet, but would love to get her one when shes older xx

    #KCACOLS

  27. 6th February 2017 / 8:30 pm

    Great review!!! I want to play with Lottie! But in my house full of car loving boys dolls have never gotten a second glance. I’ll have to keep these in mind for my nieces when they get a little older!!! Thanks for sharing on #KCACOLS

  28. 6th February 2017 / 9:01 pm

    I love dolls! Finding different and good quality dolls for my daughter is always a must for me. Great review 🙂 #KCACOLS

  29. 6th February 2017 / 9:41 pm

    I love these dolls…they are much more realistic for young girls to play with, I think my 6 year old would love them! #KCACOLS

  30. 6th February 2017 / 9:45 pm

    These sound brilliant! I especially like that they are little girls and not needing to be all glam in heels and what-not. Sadly, I have little boys who so far are showing no interest in dolls, so I will not get to play with them. #kcacols

  31. 7th February 2017 / 8:06 pm

    I’ve never come across these before – they look like Barbie but more realistic! #KCACOLS

  32. 8th February 2017 / 2:15 pm

    Looks and sounds like a lovely doll. #KCACOLS

  33. 9th February 2017 / 8:37 am

    Dolls look beautiful and I’m sure my daughter would love them. Dressing up and playing with dolls always works for us, girls, right?;) #KCACOLS

  34. 9th February 2017 / 8:46 am

    These look lovely and I love the concept. So much nicer for little girls than Barbies! #kcacols

  35. 9th February 2017 / 7:42 pm

    Lovely looking dolls! I love how they all have awesome jobs not just a princess who wouldn’t want to be a fossil hunter! #KCACOLS

  36. 10th February 2017 / 12:58 am

    Great post! These are very nice looking dolls! #KCACOLS

  37. mainy
    10th February 2017 / 9:29 am

    Fab review, fun little dolls that seem to do a fair bit. Having two boys its not often that I get to see the girls side of things so I enjoy it when I can.

    Mainy

    #KCACOLS

  38. 10th February 2017 / 2:59 pm

    Oh these look fab, love the idea behind them as well. x #kcacols

  39. 10th February 2017 / 9:48 pm

    Cool review. Never knew about these. What is STEM if you’ll excuse my denseness. ?#kcacols

    • thehippychristianmum
      10th February 2017 / 9:57 pm

      Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics 🙂

  40. 11th February 2017 / 8:22 am

    I’d not heard of Lottie dolls before, but they sound like something my little girl would like! I’m glad someone else asked about STEM as I didn’t know either! #KCACOLS

  41. 11th February 2017 / 8:59 pm

    those doll look really nice. I have a son so I don’t think it will be great idea to buy one for him but my niece will love it
    #KCACOLS

  42. 12th February 2017 / 5:02 pm

    I love the concept of these dolls and the fact that they each have their own identity. Great for teaching children about individuality #KCACOLS

  43. 12th February 2017 / 11:39 pm

    Ah its refreshing to have a doll that isn’t overly grown up (heels and makeup) and is still life like. They sound fun. I’m especially keen on the varying skin tones, so important in this day and age. 🙂 #KCACOLS

  44. 13th February 2017 / 3:11 pm

    Thank you for sharing – this sounds like a present that my niece would really love. I’ve got her birthday coming up, and I like the idea of not giving her another Barbie but something a little bit different! Thanks for sharing #KCACOLS

  45. 14th February 2017 / 11:45 am

    Wow they’re really cool dolls! Keeping kids younger for longer is definitely a win. No make-up/high heels. I like how they each do something different too, that’s a great way to get kids thinking about all different types of activities and jobs etc! Lovely post 🙂 #KCACOLS
    Becky x

  46. 14th February 2017 / 11:47 am

    I like the STEM positioning a lot. We have just introduced our 4-year-old to dolls (albeit a different, rather well known range), and I’m pleased by the way they’re now so much more diverse in terms of ethnicity, body shape and ‘job’. It’s great that ranges such as this exist to provide a variety of interesting options for our daughter to role-play and learn from. Who knows where it might lead one day?

    • 14th February 2017 / 11:47 am

      Oops., forgot to add #KCACOLS

  47. 14th February 2017 / 1:32 pm

    Oh she is ever so cute, I love the lack of make up and how it’s based on a 9 year old not a 16 year old!
    I’m not sure my daughter would like them though, she is all for wearing make up and high heels. Perhaps if she had been bought these instead of Barbies at a younger age she wouldn’t be so into it tho…
    #KCACOLS

  48. 14th February 2017 / 1:58 pm

    Thanks so much for the review. I think my little lady would love one! I think the message behind the dolls is brilliant and definitely something I want my lady to get learning about. #KCACOLS

  49. Laura @ Dot Makes 4
    14th February 2017 / 8:04 pm

    I’ve never heard of Lottie Dolls before. They look great! I love the meaning and how realistic they are 🙂 I’m off to check out their website!
    #kcacols

  50. 15th February 2017 / 9:32 pm

    I love this. It’s promoting such important messages to our children. As a Geologist I love that your daughter showed interest in the fossil hunting – woohoo! Definitely a step in the right direction for the toy world! #KCACOLS

  51. 15th February 2017 / 9:51 pm

    These are cute and were obviously a popular choice. Such lovely things now for the littles to play with and dress up and these seem really adaptable. What fun #kcacols

  52. 16th February 2017 / 9:34 pm

    I have been eyeing these up for a while, I think they look so much better than other dolls. I particularly like the look of the fossil hunter after our trip to the National History Museum! #KCACOLS

  53. 16th February 2017 / 10:40 pm

    I think any doll that girls can identify themselves with is a winner! I love the message behind them too #KCACOLS

  54. 17th February 2017 / 12:18 am

    Great in depth review! I unfortunately grew up playing with barbie dolls but would have definitely preferred a Lottie doll. Young girls do not need to be exposed to makeup, heels etc. #KCACOLS

  55. 18th February 2017 / 1:03 am

    I keep reading about these dolls & thinking I should see if my girls like them! #KCACOLS

  56. 18th February 2017 / 1:37 am

    I hadn’t seen these dolls before, I don’t think they’ve got to Mexico yet – I hope they do soon, though, I’d much prefer my daughter to play with these than with barbies. I like the philosophy behind them, the focus on STEM, different activities other than clothes and makeup, the different skin tones of each doll. #KCACOLS

  57. 18th February 2017 / 4:11 am

    I had never heard of these (the life of a mom of boys I guess) but they look like a fantastic alternative option. #KCACOLS

  58. 18th February 2017 / 6:02 pm

    These look fab, my daughter would love these. She’s become really interested in dolls this size that aren’t just straight up Barbies, she enjoys a bit of a story.

    #KCACOLS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *